Forums » Rule Clarifications » Arms over bodies

Messages for Arms over bodies

Comment Posted by jadel Jul 15, 2013 11:18 AM

Play: The rusher is closing in on quarterback, A1. A1 deliberately ducks down while the rusher’s arm swoops over A1 without the touch being made.

Ruling: Do not blow the whistle. This is deliberate and fair means of avoiding a tag. It is different than a defender jumping over fallen ball carrier. (Rules Committee 1986)

Play: A4 bends to catch a low pass. Just after he gains possession, B3 comes in for the touch, swipes a hand over the top of A4 but does not touch A4.

Ruling: Allow the play to continue as no touch occurred or is awarded in this case. (Rule 9.2.1)

Play: A4 dives and catches the ball. While crawling upfield in an effort to gain yards, B3 swipes a hand over the body of A4.

Ruling: Allow the play to continue as B3 has not jumped over or touched A4 and is therefore not awarded touch. (Rule 9.2.1)

Comment: The key factor in awarding a touch, when one has not occurred, is that the defender jumped over or, in some other manner, avoids a collision with, the ball carrier, and in doing so, gives up the opportunity to make a touch. (Rule 9.2.1 and Rules’ Committee 1992)


You must be logged in to post a new message.

Proceed to the signup page to create an account if you don't already have one or login if you already have an existing account.

Various icons used from the Silk Icons library.